United States Congress


The United States Congress consists of the Senate, its upper house, and the House of Representatives, its lower house. Both representatives and senators are chosen through direct election. There are 535 voting Members of Congress; the House of Representatives has a membership of 435 and the Senate has a membership of 100.

Congress meets in the Capitol in Washington, D.C.